Why is entry price off from expected?

I entered into an ETHUSD long position, but the entrance was at a higher position that I expected.

The bottom arrow shows approximately where I entered, and the blue line is where my position appeared:

I’m a trading newb. Is this because of spread?

@trusktr It appears the graph you are showing is from TradingView and is displaying prices from the Coinbase exchange. Each crypto trading venue will execute trades at different prices. US equity markets are regulated and are essentially synchronized between the 50+ trading venues (so an order executed on the NYSE for example will fill at pretty much the same price as one executed on a SDP like Citadel). There isn’t any such regulation or synchronization between the many crypto trading venues. An order placed on Coinbase bears little relationship to an order placed on Alpaca. Really the only thing keeping them ‘close’ is the potential for arbitrage between the various venues.

Crypto market orders (should) fill at the current quote on that trading venue. The current quote is typically the lowest sell limit order and the highest buy limit order sitting on that specific exchange. If one places a buy market order, for example, it should fill against the sell limit order with the lowest limit price. It will only fill against orders sitting on the same trading venue. An order placed on Alpaca for instance won’t fill against an order sitting on Coinbase. Since the orders sitting on the various venues are different, the fill prices will necessarily be different.

The way to ensure your order fills at an expected price is to enter a limit order. Of course this has the potential of the order not filling, but that is the tradeoff.

Hope that helps?

That’s the only source for crypto prices that is available when I have TradingView connected to Alpaca.