Unable to connect to data.alpaca.markets: Connection refused

Hi, I have been using alpaca SIP data for 3 months without issue. But starting today I got Connection refused. What’s the reason and how to recover from it?

This is a super scary problem… imagine you were trading stocks and suddenly lost all market data streams…

chill out, its likely something on your end

Still doesn’t work today. I emailed tech support team and the answer wasn’t helpful. Here is the error message:

requests.exceptions.ConnectionError: 
HTTPSConnectionPool(host='data.alpaca.markets', port=443): 
Max retries exceeded with url: /v2/stocks/quotes?symbols=EEX&limit=10000&start=2024-04-18&end=2024-04-18&feed=sip&sort=asc 
(Caused by NewConnectionError('<urllib3.connection.HTTPSConnection object at 0x7f4b3ba61210>: Failed to establish a new connection: [Errno 111] Connection refused'))

@PatL You should be able to fetch quotes for EEX. I tried the url posted in the error and it worked fine

curl --location 'https://data.alpaca.markets/v2/stocks/quotes?symbols=EEX&limit=10000&start=2024-04-18&end=2024-04-18&feed=sip&sort=asc' \
--header 'APCA-API-KEY-ID: xxxxx' \
--header 'APCA-API-SECRET-KEY: xxxxx'

The response was

"quotes": {
    "EEX": [
        {
            "ap": 9.7,
            "as": 1,
            "ax": "T",
            "bp": 2.74,
            "bs": 1,
            "bx": "T",
            "c": [
                "R"
            ],
            "t": "2024-04-18T08:08:41.604728832Z",
            "z": "A"
        },

I would guess there is an issue with urllib3 package. Which SDK (if any) are you using? Ensure the SDK is the most up to date version. Perhaps re-install it.

Hi Dan, thank for the response.

Unfortunately the error persists no matter what method I used to retrieve data

• python requests
  • alpaca-py with the latest version

the error is the same above.