MS Access integration with API

Environment

Microsoft Access (Office 16) and VBA

Problem

I’m brand new to Alpaca and using an API, but I was thinking of reviving an old Access database I used to use to play around with day trading strategies. While I realize I may have to rewrite all that VBA into something else like Java or Python (also new to me), I first wanted to see if there’s a way to send POST messages from Access to the API.

I’ve found some general tips on Access and POST methods, but my initial attempts get a “not found” error when sending to the API url.

Here was one attempt using a JSON string:
https://paper-api.alpaca.markets/v2/orders/ {“symbol”: “UVXY”, “qty”: 500, “side”: “sell”, “type”: “market”, “time_in_force”: “cls”, “client_order_id”: “123456”}

1 Like

this sounds fun might be able to help a bit if you’d like depending on what it is you want to do.

I’m really just looking to revive this Access database with its VBA code to generate order ideas and send those orders to the Alpaca API (paper trading only). Years ago when I first used the db, I had access to a Bloomberg terminal and could easily import real-time prices to simulate order fills. Now I’d like to have Access send the order message to Alpaca, get the response/fill back, and then track positions as it goes along.

anything specific your stuck on

Getting the POST from Access to actually reach the API!

Here’s the VBA function:

Public Function HTTP_RESP(ByVal sReq As String) As String

Dim byteData() As Byte
Dim XMLHTTP As Object

Set XMLHTTP = CreateObject("MSXML2.XMLHTTP")

XMLHTTP.Open "POST", sReq, False
XMLHTTP.send
byteData = XMLHTTP.responseBody

Set XMLHTTP = Nothing

HTTP_RESP = StrConv(byteData, vbUnicode)

End Function

And here’s the URL and JSON string I’m trying to pass into the function and through to Alpaca:
https://paper-api.alpaca.markets/v2/orders {“symbol”: “UVXY”, “qty”: 500, “side”: “sell”, “type”: “market”, “time_in_force”: “cls”, “client_order_id”: “123456”}