Trade or Bars data inaccuracy

Hi , i have an issue with trade or bars data. Trade data does not correspond to bars data. I have an Unlimited subscription. For example:

As we can see that volume, open, low, close are identical in both dataframes (from aggregated trade data and downloaded bars data), BUT the high price is different!

So, my question is what is wrong here? Trade data or bars data? Or am i doing smth wrong?

It is a fundamental issue i think.

If someone from Alpaca support can help me, i would greatly appreciate this. Thank you

@johnyssan The basic issue is that not all trades are used to calculate ‘bars’. To calculate bars from actual trades you first need to filter the trades by the trade condition attribute. There is an explanation of this in this article.

Does that help?

Thank you very much. I have updated my aggregation function to exclude several trade conditions based on UTP Specification you provided, and it works. Bars are identical.

I appreciate your support.

UPDATE for those who may be facing the same problem as me.

Based on page 43 of the UTP Specifications there are specific trade conditions that need to be excluded for accurate high, low, open, close, and volume calculations. This is critical for those building their own bars from trade data.

def aggregate_to_5min_bars(df, price_column='price', size_column='size', conditions_column='conditions'):
    # Define conditions to exclude for high/low, open/close, and volume
    excluded_conditions_high_low = {'C', 'H', 'I', 'M', 'N', 'Q', 'R', 'T', 'U', 'V', 'W', '7'}
    excluded_conditions_volume = {'M', 'Q', '9'}
    excluded_conditions_open_close = {'C', 'G', 'H', 'I', 'M', 'N', 'P', 'Q', 'R', 'T', 'U', 'V', 'W', 'Z', '4', '7'}

# Ensure the DataFrame index, which is the timestamp, is sorted
    df.sort_index(inplace=True)

# Filtering logic: Exclude trades for high and low calculations if any condition matches the exclusion list